The Corbett House, an elegant two-story, stucco-covered brick structure built in the mission revival style, was completed in 1907 and lived in by members of the Corbett family for fifty-six years. J. Knox Corbett and his wife Lizzie Hughes Corbett built the house on the northwest corner of the block next to the Stevens House. When Hiram Stevens died in 1893, his wife Petra appealed to Lizzie Corbett, her niece and goddaughter, to live near her and promised the deed to the lot if they would consent. With the advent of new architectural styles emerging in Tucson, the surrounding area became a prime location for exclusive residences and the Corbett House fit right in. It had a commanding view of the city and served an important civil function as a meeting place for many clubs to which the Corbett family belonged.
The house was furnished with rich mahogany furniture and European imports. There was also an elaborately carved buffet decorated with animal motifs and handmade brass hardware made for the Corbett family by a grateful employee. The house has a full basement which once housed a water cooling tower, one of Tucson’s first air conditioning systems. Upstairs, in a small attic room, gin was manufactured during prohibition.
Today, the completely refurbished house features an extensive collection of beautiful and unique decorative objects from the Arts and Crafts era.
For Your Information
Records for buildings on the historic block are housed in the Research Library and open to the public during regular library hours.